Rustic Cabbage and Potato Soup

Hello!  Welcome to Happy Spinach!  I’m Sophie–you can read more about me and this blog here: https://happyspinach.wordpress.com/about/.  Anyway, let’s begin.

When I came across this recipe for cabbage soup on Heidi Swanson’s blog (www.101cookbooks.com) I knew I  had to make it.  A few things set this cabbage soup apart from other cabbage soups.  First of all, it has a generous bit of garlic–though I will no doubt add more the next time I make this.  Second, I think the addition of white beans is fantastic!  They’re a perfect balance between the tender and delicate ribbons of cabbage with the firmer, starchy texture of the potatoes.  Like she makes note in her recipe, the final seasoning is key to making this soup superb.  I added just enough salt to add depth to the flavor of the aromatics and vegetables, and then I also added some freshly ground black pepper.

Rustic Cabbage and Potato Soup

Slightly adapted from Heidi Swanson’s recipe, http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/rustic-cabbage-soup-recipe.html .

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

kosher salt

1 pound potatoes, skin on, cut into 0.25 inch pieces (I used red)

8 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced

1 large yellow onion, sliced thinly into half-moons

10 cups of vegetable stock

3 cups of white beans, precooked (I used great northern)

1 large cabbage, cored and sliced into 0.25 inch ribbons

freshly ground black pepper

freshly grated Parmesan cheese, to serve

Warm the olive oil in a very large, heavy soup pot over medium-high heat.  Stir in the potatoes and sprinkle with two large pinches of salt.  Cover and cook them until they are a bit tender and beginning to brown, about 5 minutes.  My potatoes stuck a great deal, so I found it helpful to use a metal spatula to flip them occasionally.  Stir in the onions and garlic and cook a few minutes more.  Add the stock and beans and bring to a simmer.  Let it simmer gently for about five minutes so the onion can soften, skimming any foam that appears.  Stir in the cabbage ribbons and cook until the cabbage softens to your tastes.  Now, adjust your seasonings with more salt and pepper.  Ladle into bowls and serve with Parmesan cheese on top.

Serves 10

Leave a Reply

