Creamy Spinach Polenta With a Fried Egg

When I made myself lunch this afternoon, I had no intentions of posting it.  But, as I let my creativity and cravings guide me in the kitchen, everything just fell into place.  And I think that is something very important for us to realize during these hectic days…  Just try to take a deep breath and relax, let things fall as they will and you just might be pleasantly surprised at the outcome.

I normally eat spinach salad for lunch.  Yes.  Everyday I eat a spinach salad.  Summer?  Winter?  Spring?  Fall?  All of the time, I love it.  So, of course I had to incorporate spinach in my lunch; because, for me, lunch just isn’t lunch without spinach.  I opted not to cook the spinach, but to allow the creamy polenta to wilt it (keeping as many nutrients as possible).  But, if spinach isn’t your bag, feel free to opt for any other green.

So, the egg (though it be optional, like almost all of the ingredients) is something that I would definitely do again.  The runny, golden yolk creates a delicious, silky sauce that totally replaces butter or milk.  Think of the runny eggs as “nature’s gravy.”

The green onions were a last-minute addition, and could be easily omitted.  I would recommend some sort of onion or herb (such as chives, parsley, or sautéed leeks or red onions) for flavor.

 

Creamy Spinach Polenta With a Fried Egg

3 tablespoons yellow polenta or grits

1 cup of water

a large pinch of kosher salt

1 large egg

1 green onion, sliced thin

a large handful of baby spinach leafs, washed

several drops of Tabasco pepper sauce, to taste

freshly ground black pepper

 

In a small sauce pan, bring water and salt to a boil.  When boiling, steadily pour in your polenta/grits and stir.  Reduce heat and cover, allowing to simmer for 3-5 minutes, or until done.  Remove from heat, stir in green onions, recover, and let sit.

Heat up a small, non-stick skillet over medium low heat and crack in your egg.  Allow to cook for about 3 minutes and gently flip and cook until whites are fully set and yolk is still runny.

In your serving bowl, lay in your spinach.  Pour hot polenta on top, and slide on egg.  Finish with Tabasco and black pepper.  Admire your beautiful meal for as long as you can and dig in!

Serves 1 generously

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

