Chipotle Black Bean Salad

I am back from California!  It was a long and very fun trip, but I’m glad to be back home with my little critters.  We enjoyed both Northern and Southern California and got to go to Chico, San Diego, La Jolla, and Pacific Beach among many others.  Though I cooked very little, I did a fair share of baking–some of which will be popping up here in the next few weeks.  Since I didn’t cook I got to experience a lot of neat little healthy cafes, and my aunt’s fabulous cooking.  During all of that time I picked up a lot of inspiration, so there are exciting things on the horizon.

This salad was not inspired whatsoever by my trip to California, but was a sort of mishmosh of tastiness that I developed for dinner one night.  I stuck with a minimum number of ingredients, trying to concentrate on the quality and freshness of those used.

I like to serve this salad on top of a mound of fresh greens with a generous sprinkling of nutritional yeast flakes on top.  Or you could eat it like my sister does, mixing both the bean and lettuce salads before rolling it into a whole wheat tortilla.

Chipotle Black Bean Salad

Salad:

4 ears corn, husked and kernels sliced off (I prefer yellow, but white and bicolor work equally well)

2 15-ounce cans black beans, drained and well-rinsed

a handful of cilantro or parsley, roughly chopped

Dressing:

2 canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauced, chopped into a paste

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

2 teaspoons adobo sauce

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 1/2 teaspoons organic cane sugar

In a medium bowl, toss together the corn, black beans, and cilantro.  In a small dish, whisk together the dressing ingredients and pour over the salad.  Toss to coat and allow to sit in the refrigerator for at least one hour before serving (this kind of salad really is best the next day, but you can eat it immediately).  Serve with a mixed green salad and/or whole wheat flour tortillas.

Makes 4 main course servings

Leave a Reply

