Weekday Ketchup

Today is a Twilight Zone day.  I’ve never really watched the Twilight Zone before (except for a few minutes here and there when I was younger, which admittedly unnerved me), but it’s quite good.  They remind me a great deal of Lovecraft–who I have grown fond of–so it makes sense that I find them enjoyable.  I find that they’re haunting and hypnotic, curious and eerie, mesmerizing and melancholy…  In short, very entertaining.

Anyway, today I finally got around to making homemade ketchup.  And boy oh boy!  Is it good!  I knew homemade ketchup would be significantly better–not to mention healthier and cheaper–than store-bought, but I didn’t figure it would be this good.  The best part?  It’s so quick and easy you can make it within a few minutes during any day of the week; no cooking required!  For some, the ketchup may be a bit vinegar-y, so feel free to add additional honey if you find that to be the case.  Either way, I strongly encourage you to make your own.

On a side note, Nava Atlas will be featuring my photo for her Sesame Tofu and Leeks (from my last post https://happyspinach.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/sesame-tofu-and-leeks/) in the VegKitchen newsletter!  Needless to say, I’m incredibly honored and wonderfully excited about it!  So, be sure to sign up for it.  : )

Weekday Ketchup

Adapted slightly from Laurel’s Kitchen

12-ounce can of tomato paste

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup water

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 teaspoon cumin

2 grates fresh nutmeg*

1/2 teaspoon yellow mustard powder

a squeeze of garlic through a press**

a drizzle of honey

–Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.  Store in a jar in the fridge.

*If you are using pre-ground nutmeg, then use a scant 1/8 teaspoon.

**If you don’t have a garlic press, mash a small clove into a pulpy paste and stir in.

Leave a Reply

