Green Brilliance Smoothie

IMAG2437

So today’s post is a bit of a revamp of the Banana and Kale smoothie that I posted sometime last year.  This one has a lot more to offer than the last one did and is bursting with more greens, healthy bacteria, and a boost of protein.

Whenever I drink this smoothie, I feel like I’m really on top of my game in healthy land.  Which is not always true…  There’s a lot of things I could do to further healthify my diet, so yeah…  But!  This smoothie is a very good start, no?

Anyway, this smoothie is extra awesome because it has not just one leafy green, but two.  This time around, baby spinach has decided to join the party to give dino kale some extra green brilliance.  Plus that little bit of protein powder makes this smoothie stick with you all morning long.

IMAG2441

Now for a good old tangent…

A while back I went to a party and learned how to line dance, and then I played pool for the first time.  It was amazing.  I cannot believe that I have walked past so many pool tables without giving them a single thought, and now all I want to do is knock some balls with a cue.  Plus buying the time to play was an incredibly empowering experience, so score for carrying cash!

IMAG2445

And now let us talk about kitties.

Today Minuet decided to join me during my photo shoot.  Unfortunately, she is, as a whole, not a very sociable girl.  On some occasions, however, she’ll let me scoop her up and give her a couple of kisses on her precious little kitty head.  Sociable or not, though, she is wonderfully photogenic.

Anyway, go and give this smoothie a try.  To healthiness!

IMAG2446

GREEN BRILLIANCE SMOOTHIE

If you have it, you could try adding some freeze-dried wheatgrass or maca or chlorella or whatever super-green-boosting ingredient you’d like.  I’ve never tried any of those, but I think that they would all make acceptable additions to give you even more nutrients!

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 very large dino kale leaf, washed well and stem discarded
  • 1 large handful baby spinach, washed well
  • 1-2 scoops vanilla protein powder*
  • 60 grams / 1/4 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1/2 to 1 whole frozen banana

In your blender, blend the almond milk, kale, and spinach on high speed until smooth.  Dump in the protein powder, the yoghurt on top (it keeps the protein powder from going all over the sides of your blender), and the banana on top of that and blend again.  Pour into a large glass and enjoy with or without a straw!

Makes one very large serving

*I use a soy based protein powder.  Be sure that whatever you get is high quality stuff.  You really don’t want any chemical nonsense or GMOs or any of that in your lovely smoothie.

Leave a Reply

